FAQ: How Can I Reset Student Progress?
Give a Student, or Your Whole Class, a Fresh Start ♻️
This guide covers what resetting student progress does, and how to do it for a whole class or for individual students.
📑 Table of Contents
- Why Reset Student Progress?
- Resetting Progress for a Whole Class
- Resetting Progress for Individual Students
- Related Articles & Resources
Why Reset Student Progress?
Resetting a student's progress fully erases the data in their account. They'll restart completely from the beginning of ReadTheory, including taking a new benchmark.
⚠️ Important: This fully erases the student's existing progress. Make sure this is what you want before proceeding.
Resetting Progress for a Whole Class
- From the Classes page, click on the class you want to reset.
- Select the checkbox in the top-left row to select all students.

- Select More Actions.

- Select Reset Student Progress.
.png?width=670&height=335&name=reset%20student%20progress%20(1).png)
- Select the option to reset Knowledge Points if you want them to fully restart at 0. Uncheck this box if you don't want their Knowledge Points reset.

- Select Reset Progress to finalize the process.
Resetting Progress for Individual Students
This can be done from either the Students page or from within the Class page.
- Select the checkbox(es) next to the student(s) you want to reset.

- Click More Actions.
.png?width=670&height=333&name=more%20actions%20(1).png)
- Click Reset Student Progress.

- Select the option to reset Knowledge Points if you want them to fully restart at 0. Uncheck this box if you don't want their Knowledge Points reset.

- Select Reset Progress to finalize the process.
Related Articles & Resources
Removing Students and/or Classes
Locating and Analyzing Pretest Scores
Have questions? We're here to help. Reach out anytime at support@readtheory.org.